Some wit, some wisdom

From the inimitable Viru Sehwag:

There is a very thin line between success and failure. If you ask Virender Sehwag, it is a matter of how you look at things. “Half empty or half full,” he smiles. “A cover-drive for four or disaster,” he explains.

“When I play a cover-drive, I play it to score runs. I don’t play a shot to get out. So, if the cover-drive ends up in a catch at slip, I am spared criticism. If it ends up in the hands at covers, I am slammed. The shot attempted has remained the same, only the mode of dismissal is different.”

2 thoughts on “Some wit, some wisdom

  1. Spoken like only Viru. He simply amazes me with his clarity in thinking and also, in his ability to put mind over matter (at least on most occasions). May the tribe increase 🙂

  2. That’s what I am thinking for years…if he gets out caught by wicketkeeper or at slip,nobody has any problem and if he gets out at boundary or at some other fielding position,everybody makes an issue of an irresponsible behaviour.
    that’s in our mindset,i suppose.somebody gets out defending or talks diplomatic/banal..no problem while other attacks or speaks his mind,sky starts falling down

Comments are closed.